Homemade Canned Meat Sauce


Did you ever want to make your own homemade spaghetti sauce and couldn’t figure out how to or couldn’t find a recipe that you liked. Well after years of trying different recipes, I’ve found one that our family just loves. It’s a favorite at our house and we can it every year. This is the recipe I found in The Ball Blue Book of Preserving and I can’t rave enough about it. I usually make 24 quarts.

SPAGHETTI MEAT SAUCE

Yield: about 6 pints or 3 quarts

5 lb. of ground beef

2 cups chopped onions (about 2 medium)

1 cup chopped green peppers (about 2 medium)

9 cups cooked or canned tomatoes and juice

2  & 2/3 cup tomato paste (about 24 oz.)

2 TBSP. brown sugar

2 TBSP. minced parsley

1 ½ TBSP. salt

1 TBSP. oregano

1/2 tsp. pepper

1/2 tsp. ginger

1/2 tsp. allspice

2 TBSP. vinegar

Brown ground beef in a large sauce pot. Drain off excess fat. Add onions and green peppers and cook slowly until tender. Add remaining ingredients; simmer until as thick as desired. Skim off excess fat, if necessary. Ladle hot sauce into hot jars, leaving 1″ head space. Adjust two-piece caps. Process pints 1 hour, quarts 1 hour and 15 minutes at 10 pounds of pressure in a steam-pressure canner. I don’t use a steam pressure canner,  I use a hot water bath and process 10 minutes longer. When they are done take out and put them on a towel on the counter. After you have boiled the lids and rings, make sure that the tops of the jars have nothing on them before you put on the lids. If they do, wipe them off with a linen towel. Make sure they are spaced apart, and cover with another towel. When the lids have sealed they will pop. I usually let them sit and cool down. Write the date & item you’ve canned and store in a cool place. I put mine in the basement.

If I don’t have enough tomatoes from the garden to process in a hot water bath right away, I usually will  put them on a newspaper to ripen. That way when I make my spaghetti sauce I will have enough to make a good size batch. I usually can 10 lb. of hamburger at a time for the bigger batch.  I follow the recipe pretty closely but have added mushrooms to the batch. I also use a mixture of Roma tomatoes as they are meaty and also Big Boy as they are juicy.

When it comes time to use, I will dump a jar in the pan and add a little sugar to sweeten up. Otherwise they will have a little more acidity taste because of the tomatoes. All you have to do is heat this up and make your spaghetti and it’s done.  This is oh so good!!! A must try.

For more canning recipes go to www.BallBlueBook.com

Leave a Reply

