Inclement Weather


Dark, cloudy skies. This is what they looked like yesterday evening in Western Wisconsin. It’s been abnormally dry around here and there hasn’t been much rain. I’m not really sure  what to say about our weather. One day it’s sunny and warm, the next cold and windy. But the last few days we’ve been warned that there could be some strong storms coming. I don’t why, but when I start watching the weather channel or our local news and see the risks, it kind of gives me an adrenalin rush.  Whether good or bad, I’m not sure.

Yesterday,  I received a call that my weather radio came in. I really didn’t want to drive to Eau Claire to get it but decided that I better because of the changing weather and I didn’t want to be driving it in today. After some programming and set up, I waited to see it in action.  I wasn’t sure if I did it right. Well, I didn’t have to wait long as you can see. It started beeping and then the warning came on last night. It scared the bejeebers out of me. I like the unit so far. I border three counties so they are all programmed in. There are three settings on the weather radio. One – advisory, Two – watch, & Three – warning. Depending on whether it’s a watch or warning that setting will light up. The alarm goes off for a severe storm or tornado warnings.

And before I go very far, I just want to show you what the creek behind our house looked like yesterday before any rain.

As you can see by the beaver dam, it’s pretty low. Now fast forward to this morning.

You can barely see the dam now. So we got some rain. And this is just the start. I awoke this morning to my weather alarm going off. Storm warnings for Jackson County. As I sit here writing this, the skies are getting darker, so we will see how long it is before I have to get off the computer.  It’s supposed to be this way all day today and then rain on and off for the next several days. I will update whenever I can.

There are no tornado warnings or watch’s at this time, just . Be careful if you are going to be out  today and keep your ear to the radio and skies.

It is 8:58 am and by looking at the skies and hearing the rumbles of thunder, I think it is time to get off. Will check in later.

Leave a Reply

