Shopping Excursion


Well, it’s that time again for a little shopping excursion. I had some coupons that I just didn’t want to throw away as they were high dollar coupons, so off to Eau Claire I went. What a day to go. It wasn’t even 9:00 am yet and I was sweating like a stuck pig. I’m ok with hot but the humidity is terrible. So turned the air on high and off I went. Had a few stops to make even before I went to Eau Claire. So I made those and even stopped at a few thrift sales along the way. Got a few things for the grandkids. My first stop was Wal-Mart.

Total value $48.11

Paid $21.61

Saved 55%

Here is the breakdown.

.94 Carefree Liners (5) = 4.70 – 2.50 coupons = 2.20/5 or .44 each

$2.72 Poise Liners (4) = 10.88 – 5.00 coupons = 5.88/4 or $1.47 each

.94 Kotex Liners (6) = 5.64 – 6.00 coupons = FREE + overage of .36

1.24 U Liners (10) = 12.40 – 10.00 in coupons = 2.40/10 or .24 each

2.13 GE Bulbs 3 pk. (1) – 1.00 coupon = 1.13

3.97 Ruffies Garbage Bags 22 ct. – 1.00 coupon = 2.97

2.00 (sale price) Mens Speed Stick – 1.00 coupon = 1.00

And a tank top for which I did not have a coupon. The puperoni sticks should be with the Target picture coming up next.

Next stop was Target.

Total value: $48.49

Paid $26.60

Saved 45%

2.14 (on sale for $1.34) Lawry’s Marinades (3) 4.02 – 1.50 coupons = 2.50/3 or .84 each (saved 3.90/3 with sale & coupons)

2.00 Yoplait Yogurt with Granola (4) 2-packs 8.00 – 4.25/(4) 2 packs or .53 each

2.79 (on sale for 2/3.00) Aquafresh Toothpaste 3.00 – 2.00 coupons = 1.00/2 or .50 each

2.99 M&M bags (4) 11.96 – 6.96/4 or 1.74 per bag

2.99 Pupperoni (2) 5.98 – 4.00 coupons = 1.98/2 or .99 each

Also had a couple of other things on my regular shopping list. But these are the deals that I did get. And the total was for everything including my non-sale items.

I stacked Target coupons with manufacturer’s coupons on a lot of these items.

Next stop was Gordy’s

& the last stop of the day, Festival Foods. This was supposed to be a 10 minute excursion. Which it was, until I got outside.

Total value 15.35

paid 7.60

savings 50%

3.59 (on sale with coupon .99) Festival gallon of milk = .99

3.12 (on sale with coupon 1.88) Stone Ridge Ice Cream Sandwiches = 1.88

1.28 eggs

3.48 Flavorite butter (in store coupon 1.48)

1.78 (in store coupon .98 ea- limit 2)

So for the most part I had a great day. Then I went outside to my car. I opened the trunk to put my cold items into the cooler and had set my keys on the bag. Not thinking, as I was pushing the cart int the cart stand, I shut the trunk. Oh no….  I thought to myself what the hell was I going to do. I had all these cold stuff in my trunk and I knew my husband was hauling hay so no-one was home to get my spare set of keys. And by the way, I live 45 minutes away from home. So now what was I supposed to do.  I knew it as soon as I shut the trunk. I saw a couple of guys loading the back of their truck with a few items from the store so I decided to ask them if they had something that could open my door since I locked my keys in. Well, this wasn’t the first time that I had done it so he could see that on the window. But he didn’t have a jimmy so he tried to pull the same area out with his crow bar and put in a wire. But he still couldn’t get it unlocked.  That’s when I noticed that my back seat window was opened just a tad. So since they couldn’t get it down they figured if they could push it down a little bit, I could get my arm in to open the door. Well they got the window all right, but they broke something on the inside. They felt pretty bad but what was I supposed to do. $60 at least, to call someone to get it unlocked. So anyway, we got it unlocked and they pulled up the window but felt pretty bad. They wouldn’t take anything since they broke something on the inside of the door so we’ll see what this is gonna cost me. Maybe I shouldn’t have made that last stop. What a day.

Anyway, If I can save at least 50% every time I go to the store so can you. Other times I’ve saved up to 78%. So it’s something to check into. It’s kind of like a hobby and a game to see what I can save. I get things that I know we will use as a family, so nothing goes to waste. Well have a good weekend, and I see you back on Sunday for the weekly ads. Stay cool and hydrated.

Tammy

P.S. & make sure to hang on to your keys….. LOL

Leave a Reply

