Excessive Summer Produce


Well, it’s that time of the year again, when our garden’s are over-producing and everything needs to be canned or frozen all at once. I have just in the last 3 days made spaghetti sauce and salsa. Nothing like home-made sauces and salsa’s all year round. It’s taken me a long time to find a recipe that I love and could tweak it to make it my own. Just dump it in a pan and heat up while the noodles are cooking. Everything is already added, even the meat. This was just the first batch. I made 15 quarts. Enough for us until next year.  And it’s delicious too.

010

The next project was salsa. I wasn’t going to make any this year, but from some urging of family members, I decided to make two batches. One hot, one mild. Mind you, this is a new recipe, so I’m not sure how it’s going to taste. Of course, while it’s cooking it sure smells good. My old recipe was great, but except for the amount of tomatoes and lemon juice or vinegar that you had to add, I added what I wanted. There was no set amounts listed. So I could get anything for mild to “extra burn your throat” hot. And with the concerns over botulism and everything, I just decided to take on a new recipe and do it right.

So family, I hope you like this as much as you did my old recipe.

012My last project was taking care of the massive amounts of cabbage in the garden. As I was looking over them, I couldn’t believe the size of them. They are humongous. So of course, we froze the majority and give the rest away. But I wanted to make something for supper with a half of head of cabbage in my refrigerator. I did some searching and decided on a few recipes that I would like to try. I gave my husband the ingredients of each and let him decide what we were having for supper. This is the Cheesy Ritz Cabbage Casserole that I made. Of course with all the recipes that I find, I make changes and add something that I think will make it even better.

The recipe:

1 small cabbage, coarsely chopped (used my food processor)

1 medium onion, chopped

1/4 c. butter

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 cup mayo

1 can cream of chicken or mushroom soup

another 1/4 c. butter for later

crushed cooked crunchy bacon (optional) my addition

1 c. shredded sharp cheddar cheese (I also used a can of cheddar soup, diluted with a little milk)

1/2 to 1 stack of finely crushed Ritz crackers

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Place cabbage in a casserole dish and sprinkle cut up onions on top. Melt 1/2 c. butter and pour over the cabbage. Salt and Pepper to taste.

Then in a bowl, I mixed the cream soup, crushed bacon and mayo together. I spread that over the top of the cabbage. It almost looks like mashed potatoes.

My next step was to mix 1/2 stick melted butter, mixed with grated cheese, cheddar cheese soup, and then I added the crushed crackers. I added that to the top of the cabbage already layered.

007

Then bake in a 450 degrees oven for 45 minutes or until brown and bubbly.

008

All I can say, is “WOW“. It was delicious and filling. The extra bacon and cheese that I added only added to the wonderful flavor. So here is one recipe that I would definitely make again.

Bon Appetit!!!

Leave a Reply

